top of page

Don't be Afraid. Be Dumb.

There are a lot of things I have always wanted to write about. I guess that was one of the major reasons I wanted to start this blog. I had truly found my calling in life and I believe that is what all of us are actually looking for. That one darn thing which makes your mind, body and soul go "Yakooza!". To be honest, I don't know why the first word I shout when I am excited is that, but I am sure the Japanese mafia won't be happy about it if they find out. But guess what, I am not going back and thinking of a new word to replace that right now. Some would say I am just too lazy to do so, but I would say 'It's being fearless'. I ain't scared of no Yakuza; they want to go up against me in court over their rights on that word. Sure! At least I would be able to bring out those people who the world has been trying to find and hunt down for years now. You see that is the kind of attitude you need to make sure you can survive in this world right now. Don't Be Afraid. Be Dumb.

What I mean to say is don't be scared that you won't make it. Or that the idea you have is not good enough. What is the maximum that will happen if you put it forward on the table? It gets rejected. How is that possibly holding you back from expressing yourself? All it does is in some way affect your ego. Every idea is worth being discussed. No successful project or work comes from the first idea. So why hesitate from talking about the first? or the second and so on and so forth. Why be the one who is silent? What could possibly be worse for your ego than getting rejected? People laugh! Take this from me, the ideas that people laugh at are the ones worth keeping. Because it is the one they least expect and the one which will stand out from the audience. Work on it and you will find out the gem that you have then created.

Yue Minjun, l'ombre du fou rire

This is where I begin talking about how I look at things when I am working on some idea or concept. I hate following what the society is doing. I don't see a point in following cliche or something which has already been done. Everyone is doing something doesn't mean I need to. Why you ask? Because I like to win. Nobody doesn't like winning. Come on! That's stupid. It's harder to win a race with a thousand participants. It gets a lot easier when you make the race. There is no one else but you, so you will win. But that sounds like cheating, you might think? Not really. Because people will follow you and more people will start running your race. You will just be recognized for being that person who stood out and tried something new, something which no one else ever thought of. And that is what sells. Not how good you are, but how different you are. The world can always find someone better. Go log into Pinterest and surf for two minutes to find those gazillion people who have more skill and talent than you... but still haven't made it as far. Ever wondered why? My point exactly. Being skilled can only take you so far. Then why kill yourself competing in the race that is not only harder to win, but harder to also finally succeed in. Be recognized for having ideas no one else does. Everyone has a mind capable of doing that. It isn't true if you believe that you can't think unique. I have come across so many people who tell me that they have skill and aesthetic sense, but just can't come up with unique ideas. And what I want to tell you is something, don't let those skills be the things that hold you back. Once you become practiced in some art or form, you create a boundary and your thoughts get stuck in there. When you are thinking of these ideas, you are thinking of ideas that work with your skill. Forget it! It's the idea that matters. Not what you can exactly pull off. There is always someone better at that skill than you to make your idea come to life if it is good enough. So step out of that comfort zone of yours. Also coming back to the first point I made, don't be afraid, be dumb. Most people I have worked with I have noticed do not voice the first idea that comes into their mind. There is a huge filtration process that goes through their minds before voicing it. When working on ideas and design, make sure this filter is switched off. Once you voice your ideas that are stuck in your thought flow will you be able to think about more concepts that aren't at all related to what you mind originally thought. And if the first idea you had was too stupid a concept, then you have for yourself, a tangent to work upon. Make that dumb idea as close to implementation as possible. Design Dumb.

Follow

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

©2018 BY DESIGN DUMB. PROUDLY CREATED WITH WIX.COM

bottom of page